DISTRICT 14-5A WRESTLING BY-LAWS AND REGULATIONS

2022-2023 WRESTLING SEASON

PART A: SEEDING CRITERIA

- 1) Head to head competition: Best of series vs. that opponent. If record is tied, then last winner gets the higher seed.
- 2) Common opponents: Must be verifiable with current records. Only one degree of separation can be used.
- 3) Past Achievements: Highest UIL State Placer. Most recent 1st. Previous year only, returner in same weight class takes precedence.
- 4) Past Achievements: Highest Regional Placer. UIL District Champion. Previous Year only, returner to same weight class takes precedence.
 - a.) Seed everyone in each weight class.
 - b.) Must have 8 matches to get seeded 1st, 2nd, or 3rd, at that weight.
 - c.) Randomly draw byes for each weight class.
- 5) Head Coaches Vote (only those with participants).

PART B: POLICIES

- 1) All coaches must bring records (Varsity matches only) to the seeding meeting on paper one sheet per wrestler including date, opponent, school, and result as well as all match by match back-up documentation. If not, a letter of reprimand will be drafted (by host coach) and sent to the coach's coordinator.
- 2) Other paperwork that must be presented to the DEC. (the forms may be asked for 5 days prior to the District Championships).
 - a. Alpha Master weigh-in sheet for all possible wrestlers to be entered into the district tournament with the lowest weight class they can compete at for the tournament.
 - b. Any other paperwork required by UIL weight management program.
 - c. Must input official weigh-ins every week through Track-wrestling.
- 3) All coaches shall count **Forfeits** in district record.
- 4) Entries for District Championships are closed at the conclusion of that weight class's seeding meeting.
- 5) Seeding meeting will be held the week of Jan 17-20, 2023.
- 6) Each weight class's entries will be submitted at the same time for each weight class on a ballot (which replaces your district entry blank).
- 7) Any wrestler not making weight, or not weighing in for any reason shall be regarded as a "forfeit: in the tournament and cannot score any place points.
- 8) There will be 1 outstanding Boy/Girl wrestler voted on by the coaches at the conclusion of the District Wrestling Tournament.
- 9) There shall be four "Coach of the Year" Awards presented: Boys Head and Assistant Coach plus Girls Head and Assistant coach.

- 10) For a rule to be changed there must be a simple majority among coaches to proceed. Policies are "closed" at spring policy meeting and only "unforeseen" issues or changes to UIL rules can be voted upon later.
- 11) There will be an All-District Academic Wrestling Team announced, which will include all Varsity Wrestles who have the following qualifications:
 - a. Good Moral Character
 - b. Good Standing with their team
 - c. Minimum of 90 GPA
 - d. Varsity Wrestler
- 12) Nominations for All-District Academic Wrestling Team must be submitted by 12:00 noon on Jan. 20th to the Head Coach who is hosting the District Championship Tournament.
- 13) Nominations for State Academic Wrestling Team are due on Jan. 20th to UIL. (date may change)

PART C: DISTRICT TOURNAMENT SCORING

- 1) Four (4) places will be scored at the district meet, however, brackets will wrestle to the 6th place to allow for challenge matches and/or alternates.
- 2) A 4-man bracket will be used for 4 or less entrants in a weight class and an 8-man bracket will be used for more than 4 entrants.
- 3) Coaches will randomly draw byes during the seeding meeting. Bonus points awarded for win after bye.
- 4) District Tournament will be held February 1st and 2nd at Alamo Stadium. The boys district tournament will be on 2/1 (if needed 2/2) and the girls tournament will be on 2/2. Start time will be 10 am.

PART D: PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS

- 1) Participating schools in District 14-5A for the 2022-2023 are the following:
 - a. San Antonio Brooks
 - Academy of Science and
 - Engineering
 - b. San Antonio Highlands
 - c. San Antonio Burbank
 - d. San Antonio Veterans
 - Memorial
 - e. Uvalde
 - f. Comal Canyon
 - g. Comal Pieper
 - h. Smithson Valley

- i. Brackenridge
- j. Edison
- k. Houston
- I. Jefferson
- m. Lanier
- n. MacArthur
- o. Wagner
- p. Lavernia
- q. Uvalde
- r. Davenport